8th March 2009 – Successes at the Galloway Music Festival

The juniors had many successes at the Galloway Music Festival.

The junior group, with 11 players won the combined ensemble section with some excellent playing of Russia, a selection by Ernie Waites. The adjudicator, Michael Ball, praised the group’s style, intonation, precision and enthusiasm while awarding 88 marks out of 100 which is at distinction level. At the closing concert the group played to a packed Cinema after which the Indoor Bowling Centre Trophy was presented.

In the Brass Beginners’ section the winner was Kyle Fitzsimmons who played Aura Lee. Kyle also performed at the concert and was presented with the, very large, Cordiner trophy.

Emma Hay won the grade 1 brass section with Tess Syed Tollan second and Nathan Syed Tollan third.

Caitlin Kerr was placed third in the section up to Grade 3 while John Birse was third in the section for grades 4 to 6.

The group’s percussionist Cameron Fiskin won the Philgown Cup in the “Other Instruments” section. Cameron also impressed at the final concert.